top of page
  • w0nderfulunknown12

(S)pain: Top Things to Know

Europe is not all what it seems

Don't have time to read the whole thing? Skip the end for key highlights on Spain!


Let's skip all the jet lag and long plane rides and get right down to it! I just came back from a full 4 day vacation, yes you heard right 4 full days in Espana. Spain has always been at the top of my list of places to visit and it was my dream to experience all that it had to offer. But - it wasn't always the dream I imagined it to be. Either I didn't do my research correctly or I was totally punked because here are a few things I wish I knew before going to Spain!



Europeans are BLUNT

I would always see posts about Europeans not being huge fans of Americans, but I always brushed it off not thinking anything of it. So you could imagine my face when I saw that the servers did not give a fuck, the retail sales person popped off at me, and the bartender didn't want to give a chaser for my drink!


If you are a Spanish speaker like me, you might think you have it easy, but don't even try to fake it around them. All accents are different and they will notice that you are not from around there. They can definitely smell an American from miles away. So beware of the blunt, rude, and angry.




Lost is an understatement

Buy a map, get a good sim for your gps tracker, hire a freaking Spain guide because without it, there is a pretty high chance you will end up lost and clueless. I can't count how many times we got lost wandering in the city, trying to find parking and even on the public transportation. In Barcelona, most of the signs are in Catalan which makes it hard for most Native spanish speakers to get around.


Driving in a city you're unfamiliar with is already strange as it is, but trying to find parking is even more of an adventure. Barcelona has some parking areas for only Barcelona residents and it won't even take your card when trying to pay to park!


Public transportation isn't always that easy either. The bus and train can be hard to navigate especially when they have a million different platforms to enter and leave. It can become and endless maze and as soon as you get off it can be hard to go back on again.


I truly believe the best way to get around is to just Uber. Locals know where they are going, where to park, and it's not that expensive! And if all else fails, you can walk. Just make sure you bring your best walking shoes!




Dress to Impress - Not.

I had outfits for days when it came to this trip. Everything was planned out in my head how I was going to get good pictures and I even brought a cute pair of heeled boots to wear out. I'm telling you right now, what a huge mistake that was. As I said above, you will be walking ALOT so it's important to find comfortable (and cute) outfits and shoes to wear while out. Some of the sites are fairly close in driving, but 20-30 min walks there. So be prepared, and be comfortable!



It's a whole lot of money in this mf

buttttt not really. Things are way more expensive in Europe than you can imagine and if you're switching out dollar bills to euros try to find a sensible place that will give you the most for your cash. I remember giving them $100 only to walk out with 60 euros... Like I when I definitely should have gotten more. Like I said before, they can smell the American on you so they will try to take advantage if you're a foreigner. All in all look at it this way, if something costs 5 euros, it more than likely costs $6 here so just add an extra dollar to whatever it is in euros.



Itineraries will be your bff

As a virgo I always pride myself in having plenty of things planned out as far as trips go, but I decided since I was going with family - and some family I didn't know that I would just go with the flow. But I should have stuck to my senses because you waste so much time while you're there buying tickets to sites, planning what time to leave, and researching the best places to go.


Take it from someone that didn't plan the trip and ended up not doing anything on her list, PLANNING IS KEY!




Overall, Spain is beautiful, the food is good, and the ins and outs are worth it. But remember:

  1. Europeans are blunt

  2. Transportation is hard, you might get lost

  3. Wear comfortable shoes and clothes - you will walk A LOT

  4. Change your dollars to euros in a sensible place

  5. Itineraries are NEEDED.







bottom of page